我的第一次: David Mann谈111 Murray Street和他的第一个项目

作者:Eliza Jordan

室内设计师兼建筑师David Mann于20世纪80年代初毕业于普拉特学院,之后曾为几家小型建筑公司担任小规模的零售和住宅设计工作。1985年,他进入了Fox & Fowle建筑事务所,在十年任职期间负责世界各地大规模商业建筑的室内设计工作。1995年,他成功地将一个小型自由项目(高岛屋百货)发展成为更加大型的项目,并在此后创立了MR Architecture +Décor。Mann说:“我们的设计原则以可靠、简单的解决方案为基础,以应对包含未知因素的挑战。我们对任何事物均采用高效、永恒乃至非凡的审美理念。”

即将亮相翠贝卡街区的新建筑是111 Murray Street——高达800英尺的豪华住宅公寓大楼。这是David Mann首次设计全玻璃幕墙大楼,其中包括157套拥有开放式起居空间的住宅。设计师采用挑高的天花板、全景落地窗、量身定制的白色橡木人字形地板和精心挑选的石材营造出温馨宜人的氛围。

为了庆祝项目正式对外开放,Whitewall与Mann就该项目及其首创性进行了对话。

WW:您能告诉我们有关111 Murray Street的情况吗?您最感兴趣的是哪些细节?

DM:关于111 Murray Street项目,我们主要负责该塔楼住宅部分的室内设计工作,从电梯轿厢到住宅走廊,以及全部157套公寓的方方面面均有涉及。我们根据客户的情况精确描绘了公寓内部的楼层平面图。例如,我们负责制定材料的配色方案(包括专门定制的人字形木地板图案),选择硬件、卫浴设备和电器,并且采用优质石材和专门定做的木制品设计厨房和浴室。

我们通过增加细节来进一步体现我们对这栋建筑及其地段的想法。我们在厨房和主浴室中采用黑色的钢架结构以及专门定制的黑色硬件和特殊的门框压条。所有的一切都是对翠贝卡街区历史和工业遗产的致敬。

建筑师对玻璃幕墙所做的工作让我感到非常兴奋。第四面墙似乎已被拆除。玻璃幕墙延伸至城市外的感知生活空间,从而提供壮观的观景视野,同时以卓越的采光效果营造出通透的居家环境。我们致力于在内部空间打造豪华与舒适兼具的独特体验。

我们决定采用一种方法来消除曼哈顿上城区经典公寓和市中心阁楼生活之间的差距,针对大空间和门厅采用带有裂纹的白色橡木人字形图案木地板。为了达到扩散效果,并且使这个概念更具趣味性,我们针对这种图案选择了更宽的木板。此外,我们还选择了我们认为最理想、柔和及中性的着色剂,其有助于应对陈旧暗沉和轻微污渍。我们为厨房和浴室的木制品采用了同样的着色剂配色方案,并且为该项目精心挑选所有石材,以确保定制级的质量水准。

WW:这是您设计的第一栋玻璃幕墙住宅大楼。这对您来说意味着什么?你希望通过这栋建筑传达什么样的理念?

DM:111 Murray Street是MR Architecture + Decor设计的第一栋全玻璃幕墙建筑,室内设计工作已经完成。过去我们也曾多次参与玻璃建筑的设计工作,但仅限于个别在中途接手的项目,我们必须基于原有的空间条件进行设计。但在这个项目中,我们终于能够充分利用从这些“一次性”体验中积累的经验,并打造出终极的空中家园。在此之前,我们从未设计过弧形的玻璃幕墙,从远处望去,其建筑结构极为壮观,公寓内部则拥有惊人的观景视角。

WW:您为什么喜欢开放式的起居空间?

DM:这与我的成长环境有关,家中的起居室和餐厅被隔离开来,但都成为了使用率极低的摆设。因此,创造出融合所有此类功能的大空间是一种令人耳目一新的改变。开放式的起居空间不仅能带来更加高效的生活方式(减少空间的浪费或避免浪费),并且将更有利于社交互动。厨房空间并未单独隔离,孩子们可在大人身边玩耍,大人亦可在家里一边照看孩子一边工作,这就是建筑领域的发展趋势。建筑师必须了解墙体结构的设计方法,但在必要的时候打破墙壁的限制同样至关重要。

WW:你能介绍一下您设计的第一个项目吗?

DM:那是我上高中的时候,我的母亲希望我能对家里的犬舍进行增建。我在这项任务的美学部分投入了大量的精力,至今我还是会犯同样的错误。

 

Original Post: Whitewall

FREE EB-5 CONSULTATIONS AROUND THE GLOBE - India, UAE, China, South Africa & more - Click Here

My First: David Mann Talks 111 Murray Street and His First Project

 

By Eliza Jordan

After graduating from Pratt Institute in the early 1980s, interior designer and architect David Mann worked for several small architectural firms doing small-scale retail and residential design. In 1985, he began working for Fox & Fowle Architects, where he stayed for 10 years working on large-scale commercial architectural interiors around the globe. In 1995, after a small freelance project with Takashimaya grew into larger projects, he founded MR Architecture + Décor. “Our design principles are founded in honest, simple solutions to challenges that must also contain an enigmatic side as well,” said Mann. “Our ideal aesthetic for anything is efficient, timeless and in some way, extraordinary.”

Now new for TriBeCa is 111 Murray Street—a luxurious 800-foot residential condominium building. With this, Mann debuts his first full-scale glass residential tower, encompassing 157 residences with open living spaces. With soaring ceilings, full-height windows, custom white oak herringbone floors, and hand-selected stone details, the warm and welcoming property is a sight to see.

In celebration of its opening, Whitewall spoke with Mann about this project, and his very first.

WW: Can you tell us a bit about 111 Murray Street? What details were you most interested in including?

DM: At 111 Murray Street, we were charged with creating the interiors for the residential portion of the tower. We designed everything from the elevator cabs to residential corridors, as well as all of the 157 apartments. Within the apartments, we nuanced the floor plans to suit the customer profile. For example, we developed the palette of materials (including a custom herringbone wood floor pattern), chose the hardware, plumbing fixtures and appliances, and designed the kitchens and bathrooms which feature premium stones and custom-designed millwork.

We were most interested in adding details that reinforced our ideas about this building and its location. We designed blackened steel framing in the kitchens and master bathrooms, utilized custom-finished blackened hardware, and customized unique door casings. All of these were references to the historical, industrial heritage of Tribeca.

I am very excited about what the architects have done with the aforementioned curved glass curtain walls. These homes appear to have had their fourth wall removed. The wall of glass extends the perceived living space out over the city beyond, affording spectacular views while washing the homes with extraordinary light. We created a unique experience within these walls that is both extremely luxurious and comfortable at the same time.

We decided one way to bridge the gap between uptown classic Manhattan apartment and downtown loft living was to use a white rift oak herringbone pattern wood flooring for the great rooms and foyers. We chose a wider plank for this pattern to diffuse the formality and be more playful with the concept. We also chose what we thought was a perfect, soft, middle-tone stain which we believe is the antidote for outdated dark or light stains. We continued this stain palette for the kitchen and bathroom millwork and hand-selected all of the stone for the project to ensure a bespoke level of quality.

WW: This is your first glass residential tower. What does that mean to you? What did you want it to say?

DM: 111 Murray Street is the first full-scale, all-glass building interior MR Architecture + Decor has done. We have worked in a number of all-glass buildings in the past, but for individual projects where we inherited the conditions of the spaces we were designing. This is first time we were able to use all we have learned from those “one-off” experiences, with the intention to create the ultimate home in the sky. We had never before encountered full-height, curved glass walls, which architecturally are spectacular when viewed from afar, and provide amazing views from within the apartment.

WW: What do you enjoy about open space living?

DM: Growing up in a home where the living room was roped off just for show, the dining room, as such, was barely used, and the kitchen was its own closed off room. It’s refreshing to be creating spaces that combine all of these functions into one great room. Open space living is not only much more efficient (little or no wasted space), but it’s also much more conducive to social interaction. The cook is not sequestered in the kitchen, the kids can play among the adults, the adults can work from home while watching the kids, etc. This is architectural evolution. For as much as architects are known for putting up walls, it is even more important for us to be taking them down where they are not needed.

WW: Can you tell us a bit about your very first project?

DM: This was during high school, when I was tasked by my mother to design an addition to our home dog kennel. I recall putting way too much effort into the aesthetic part of this assignment—something I am still frequently guilty of.

Original Post: Whitewall