新EB-5法规计划将在2018年2月实施

 国会和白宫陷入改变许多移民项目法规的僵局中,其中包括EB-5区域中心计划。然而,国土安全部(DHS)计划将在2018年2月之前发布新EB-5法案。

华盛顿哥伦比亚特区,2018年1月16日:国会对EB-5区域中心计划法规进行讨论,在2018年1月19日的截止日前更新项目,同时国土安全部(DHS)计划将在2018年2月之前发布新EB-5法案。

去年秋季,国土安全部加快其制定法规的进程,计划在2018年2月采用EB-5区域中心新法规。原定采用新规定的截止日为2018年4月。拟定的EB-5法规在2017年1月公布于众,其中改变包含如提高最低投资金额,TEA地区的项目从$500,000美金提高到135万美金。非TEA地区的项目,从当前的100万美金提高至180万美金。

如果EB-5申请者决定递交第二次和随后的EB-5签证申请,拟定的EB-5法规允许其保留原先的优先日。这一规定对投资人有益,在EB-5投资人被迫改变投资的项目的情况下,允许投资人再次递交他们的I-526签证申请,同时可保留其在中国大陆EB-5签证排期中的位置。拟定的法规将授予国土安全局权力来定义TEA区域,取代现行国土安全局顺从州和地方机构的规定。

在过去几周,国会和白宫陷入改变许多移民项目法规的僵局中,其中包括EB-5区域中心计划。从2015年9月开始,政府一直在重复采用短期的解决方案,对EB-5计划进行无改变延期。一些观察者预计,EB-5计划会有新的短暂延期,无任何改变延至2018年3月,使得美国国会的讨论能继续进行。国土安全局在2018年2月能执行新EB-5法规的可能性,给国会谈判代表带来压力,或将促进其对EB-5区域中心的计划改革达成共识。


I.A. Donoso & Associates律所,位于华盛顿哥伦比亚特区,被公认为领军移民律所,向EB-5投资人提供专业服务。

New EB-5 Regulations Scheduled for February 2018

Congress and the White House have deadlocked on legislative changes to many immigration programs, including the EB-5 Regional Center program. However, the Department of Homeland Security’s schedule appears on track to deliver new EB-5 regulations in February 2018.

Washington, D.C., January 16, 2018: As Congress debates legislative changes to the EB-5 Regional Center program ahead of the January 19, 2018 deadline for renewing the program, the Department of Homeland Security’s (DHS) schedule appears on track to deliver new EB-5 regulations in February 2018.

Last fall, the DHS accelerated its rule making schedule to adopt proposed new regulations on the EB-5 Regional Center program in February 2018. The original deadline for the final adoption date of the new regulations was April 2018. The proposed EB-5 regulations, made available to the public in January 2017, included changes such as increasing the minimum investment amount from US$500,000 to US$1.35 Million for investments located in TEA’s. Investments outside of Targeted Employment Areas (TEA) would increase from the current US$1 Million to US$1.8 Million.

The proposed EB-5 regulations would also allow certain EB-5 petitioners to retain their original priority date should they decide to file a second and later EB-5 visa petition. This innocuous but helpful rule would permit EB-5 investors to refile their I-526 visa petition without losing their place in the mainland China EB-5 visa waiting list if they are forced to change investment projects. The proposed rule would give DHS the final decision-making power over TEA designations, replacing the current DHS deference to state and local agencies.

In the past week, Congress and the White House have deadlocked on legislative changes to many immigration programs, including the EB-5 Regional Center program. Short-term solutions have been repeatedly adopted since September 2015 to extend the program without changes. Some observers expect a new short-term extension of the program until March 2018 without changes, to allow negotiations on Capitol Hill to continue. The potential for DHS to implement new EB-5 regulations in February 2018 raises the pressure on Congressional negotiators to reach consensus on future reforms to the EB-5 Regional Center program.

I.A. Donoso & Associates, LLC, is a law firm based in Washington, D.C., and is recognized as a leading immigration law firm with recognized expertise in visas for EB-5 investors, professionals and academics.