如果联邦政府关闭,美国移民局会停止处理申请吗?

随着国会山的谈判持续,试图对资助美国联邦政府运作的法案达成协议,许多人怀疑美国移民局(USCIS)是否会关闭。即使美国联邦政府的其他机构关闭,美国移民局仍会继续运作。这是因为美国移民局是一个收费的机构,这意味着它的运营费用主要来自于从申请人处收取的费用。

华盛顿特区- 2018年1月19日: 随着国会山的谈判持续,试图对资助美国联邦政府运作的法案达成协议,雇主和移民常常担心美国移民局是否也会关闭。

对这个问题的简短回答是“不”,即使美国联邦政府的其他机构遭遇关闭,美国移民局仍会继续运作。这种奇怪的情况发生是因为美国移民局是一个收费的机构,这意味着它的运营费用主要来自于从申请人处收取的费用。此外,美国国土安全部的许多职能(如美国海关和边境保护局)也被认为是必要的政府服务,即使有关闭的情况,也必须保持运作。因此,事实上在过去政府关闭的期间,美国移民局一直在运作。然而,美国劳工部没有这么幸运:它不得不因资金短缺而停止运营。

来自国外的读者可能会问自己:“美国联邦政府因为资金意见分歧而关闭了多少次?”这个问题的答案比这篇文章更长!

I.A. Donoso & Associates, LLC是一家总部位于华盛顿特区的律师事务所。是移民类法律事务所的领导者,拥有专业人士为EB-5投资者、专业人士和学者提供签证。

Does the USCIS Stop Processing Petitions if the Federal Government Shuts Down?

As negotiations on Capitol Hill continue to reach agreement on a bill to fund operations of the U.S. federal government, many wonder whether U.S. Citizenship & Immigration Services (USCIS) will shut down. USCIS continues to operate even if the other agencies of the U.S. federal government experience a shut-down. This situation occurs because USCIS is a fee-funded agency, meaning that the fees for its operations arise primarily from fees collected from applicants. 

Washington, D.C. – January 19, 2018: As negotiations on Capitol Hill continue to reach agreement on a bill to fund operations of the U.S. federal government, employers and immigrants are frequently anxious about whether U.S. Citizenship & Immigration Services (USCIS) will also shut-down.

The short answer to this concern is “no”, USCIS continues to operate even if the other agencies of the U.S. federal government experience a shut-down. This quirky situation occurs because USCIS is a fee-funded agency, meaning that the fees for its operations arise primarily from fees collected from applicants. Additionally, many functions of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (such as U.S. Customs and Border Protection) are also considered essential government services that are required to remain operational even if there is a shut-down. So, in the past, the USCIS has actually remained open for business during a government shut-down. The U.S. Department of Labor, however, is not so lucky: it has to shutter operations for lack of funding.

Readers from abroad may ask themselves: “How many times has the U.S. federal government shut down because of disagreement over funding?”. The answer to this question would require a much longer response than available in this report.

Negotiations continue with most observers expecting an agreement to keep the U.S. federal government operating through mid-February or mid-March of 2018.

I.A. Donoso & Associates, LLC, is a law firm based in Washington, D.C., and is recognized as a leading immigration law firm with recognized expertise in visas for EB-5 investors, professionals and academics.

Original Post: www.donosolaw.com